Wet Paint

I remember my daddy holding my hands

He tells me "Dear tomorrow you'll understand"

Life isn't fair half of the time

I hug him tight and close my eyes

He called me strong and named me wet paint

We are not sinister devils or angel saints

We are human enough to make mistakes 

And then I chase the butterflies again

If we are mistaken by our haunted pasts

And by some promises that never last

Then why do we wait for a better tomorrow

When all we've seen was tainted sorrow

Now I know why I was wet paint

I know why I am dry and faint

My colors are vanished and my walls are tough

I trust all the errors and call my bluff

But then the wet paint can be painted over

Like a lost mirage. Like a dead lover. 

Life doesn't stop and everything gets passed by

That's how I'll live till the day I die